Thursday, April 30, 2009

This little piggy...

caused swine flu, and this little piggy caused none.


(Thought this was cute...and thought it was time to put another little random post on my blog!!)

Yesterday I (didn't) read the news and saw a headline that Egypt was killing all pigs in the country because of the looming pandemic.

Today I (didn't) read the news and saw a headline that the WHO is trying to curb the use of "Swine Flu" for the H1N1 influenza A virus to "avoid confusion over the danger posed by pigs."

Well, yes, it seems it has caused some confusion.

(Although not for this little guy...)

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Focus...


Trying to study at the Peabody Library. This may become my new routine now that I have my Saturdays free again, need to study and want to take more advantage of my time left in Baltimore. There is just one problem:

Gram positive, negative, peptidoglycan- who cares?

Maybe I should go find a moldy place to study.

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

beauty


A friend and I have been discussing beauty and vanity, the way a woman carries herself and the effect it has on her soul and those around her. More Dali? yes.

Should a woman hide her beauty? And if so, how and why?

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Revamping...


I've not been blogging for a while...(obviously!)
I think I need a little more focus.

Meanwhile, a good find if you're searching the internet for something soul-stirring and thought-provoking is this link to Msgr. Pope's recorded homilies. He is an awesome priest!

God Bless.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Baby Momma... and other thoughts on language

Language is endlessly fascinating: the way each person uses it differently, how much it changes, the way it reflects or causes changes in thought....

So last night I was in class and overheard a classmate complaining to her friend about how much she "hates her nephew's baby momma." Her friend interrupted the rant: did she mean her nephew's mother or the mother of her nephew's baby?

The first girl was irritated; her nephew is only five. "So you mean your nephew's mother?" "That's what I said, my nephew's baby momma- it's the same thing."

Her face showed that she thought the second girl was obviously stupid for having to clarify the point.

So 'baby momma', long free of that possessive 'S', isn't used here to show a relationship, but to emphasize the lack of a relationship. It's her nephew's (baby momma) not her nephew's baby(imagine the "'s") momma. The woman is a 'baby momma'. Her choice to refer to her in the most indirect term underlines her hatred for her, but it also tells us a lot about the relationship (or lack thereof) between the two women, so even though it is incorrect in a way, it is also more expressive.

Earlier in the evening I overheard another conversation about hatred. A girl in the cafeteria complained "Oooohh... I hate her so much!! Everytime I think of her she pisses me off!!" How is this possible?

Ladies, where is the love (of language)?

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Felt lucky to be alive, though...

So yesterday I was driving to class in my sister's car when suddenly the Bronco in front of me drove full-speed into a parked truck.

That's right 'parked' and 'full-speed.' There was no curve in the road, the truck wasn't parked at an angle...nothing. She was just driving, then drove off into the truck.

I thought "She must be high" and switched lanes quickly, noticing the fearful and disturbed looks on the faces of everyone on the sidewalk. Unfortunately, I had to immediately get back into the right lane since the next light was where I had to make a turn. Wary that she was high, I looked into my rear-view mirror and sure enough she is swerving in reverse away from the truck.

At this point I am surrounded by cars that are either parked or stopped at the light, so there is nowhere for me to go. We are all just sitting there stopped, but obviously, this hasn't affected her braking patterns before. All I can do is watch my impending doom coming at me in the mirror, with the front of her car smashed and her windshield wipers going nuts (it wasn't raining).

In those few split seconds, I begin a Hail Mary and take a deep breath, remembering that it helps you to absorb the impact more if your body is relaxed. "Okay, I'm about to get crashed into...stay calm."

Thankfully, at the last moment she swerves at an insane speed onto a road going off at a sharp angle just behind my car.

Phew.

The road she turned onto is still in the general direction I am headed, so I drive in a semi-paranoid fashion hoping she doesn't come flying at me again. I arrive safely with a sense of exhiliration and renewed gratitude at life...and I cross the street very carefully.

Friday, September 5, 2008

I've been duped...

I'm sitting here at a cafe, working on a 'Personal Statement' and surrounded by a guy itching his ear with a banana, a young couple hotly debating what morality means, an artist who has been doing amazing sketches all morning and a few less noticeable people with their coffee, laptops, cell phones, newspapers etc.

So that's the scene.

And I'm minding my own business with my coffee, my yellow Maggie's Place shirt on, a stack of "important papers" to go through, job applications to check on and trying to put together a 500 word narrative of my life when this guy who just planted himself at the table in front of me approaches:

"Excuse me, what's Maggie's Place?"

Confusing his tone with sincerity, I answer, fully engaged: "It's a non-profit that I used to volunteer for that runs homes for pregnant women."

"OH, oh yeah..."

I again confuse his tone, this time for familiarity: "Oh, have you heard of it?"

"You should get Palin there." "yeah?" "Yeah, she'd be a great advertisement."

At this point I'm a bit confused, thinking: "Does he mean because she's 'pro-life?' Oh wait maybe he's referring to her daught..."

"What's your opinion of abstinence-only education?" "I don't have a fully-formed opinion about it yet..." I hadn't finished my sentence yet, which was going to include that it should at least be included as legitimate and not just laughed at like it was by my pervert high-school teacher, but I'm interrupted:

"Well, Palin's all for it, and she's got a 17-year old knocked-up daughter. Abstinence-only and her daughter is knocked-up!! But don't worry, she and her boyfriend aren't going to have sex anymore until they get married." (Sarcastic tone accurately noted).

This time he is the one confused. He thinks the incredulous look on my face has to do with the facts he has laid out so plainly to me, but actually it's because until this last part I was so naive that I thought he actually wanted to engage in a conversation, and only just realized that he really is just being arrogant, presumptuous and obnoxious. I'm burdened about how best to reply, but relieved of that when he triumphantly proclaims "I don't make this stuff up! It's in the news!!" and walks away muttering "It's in the news! It's in the news!!"

ARGHHH!!!