So yesterday I was driving to class in my sister's car when suddenly the Bronco in front of me drove full-speed into a parked truck.
That's right 'parked' and 'full-speed.' There was no curve in the road, the truck wasn't parked at an angle...nothing. She was just driving, then drove off into the truck.
I thought "She must be high" and switched lanes quickly, noticing the fearful and disturbed looks on the faces of everyone on the sidewalk. Unfortunately, I had to immediately get back into the right lane since the next light was where I had to make a turn. Wary that she was high, I looked into my rear-view mirror and sure enough she is swerving in reverse away from the truck.
At this point I am surrounded by cars that are either parked or stopped at the light, so there is nowhere for me to go. We are all just sitting there stopped, but obviously, this hasn't affected her braking patterns before. All I can do is watch my impending doom coming at me in the mirror, with the front of her car smashed and her windshield wipers going nuts (it wasn't raining).
In those few split seconds, I begin a Hail Mary and take a deep breath, remembering that it helps you to absorb the impact more if your body is relaxed. "Okay, I'm about to get crashed into...stay calm."
Thankfully, at the last moment she swerves at an insane speed onto a road going off at a sharp angle just behind my car.
Phew.
The road she turned onto is still in the general direction I am headed, so I drive in a semi-paranoid fashion hoping she doesn't come flying at me again. I arrive safely with a sense of exhiliration and renewed gratitude at life...and I cross the street very carefully.
